Skip to content

My World of Warcraft Funk

February 5, 2011

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, there hasn’t been much activity on this here blog.

It’s because a) I’ve been busy, and b) I haven’t wanted to play. Now that I’m at max level, I’m kind of like..what is there to do now?

The answer to that is there’s a lot to do, and I could level professions (OMG BORING), or level my rogue alt (TIME CONSUMING), or get better gear (ALSO TIME CONSUMING). As you can tell by my answers, I am obviously disinterested in those things. I don’t know, those things just don’t seem like…fun.

The flip side/my excuse is that I’ve started writing a novel. I know, I know. I am a crazy writer lady. It is le truth. But I’m the kind of person who throws herself into projects, and thus this booky-wook has become what I live and breathe. I think about it all the time. And I get home and I think, ‘You know what I should do? I do log in and run a dungeon or something.’ And then I think, ‘Oooor I could edit that chapter I wrote last night until I fall asleep at my computer.’

Anyway, I need to get out of my WoW funk. Because I want to play, and then I start thinking about it, and I don’t. It is an issue.

So! What I want you to do is give me a PEP TALK in comments.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2011 5:29 pm

    Whether this will actually help you or not, I’m not sure, but for me, it would be finding someone to play with, or some goal to strive for. I know things are time consuming, but depending on what you want, there may be quicker ways.

    For instance, teaming up with someone will help you level up your rogue alt, and, confining yourself to doing instances can help a well, as elite mobs give more experience.

    I would offer to help you out, I don’t get to play alliance much, because I don’t really know a lot of people that play alliance.

    As for the getting gear, specifically for your Paladin, check out what items you can get from reputation with the different groups, and do quests in those areas, or run dungeons with their tabard on, and get gear that way. You’ll get gear from the instances, and you’ll get gear from raising your rep with that faction. At the same time, you’ll get lots of money, which you could use to buy materials you need off the AH to level up your profession(s). 3 in 1! Again, I offer my aide in any way I can, because that’s what I like to do, help out. That’s why I love playing tanks and healers.

    As a side note, I’d love to talk to you about your writing, as I am in the works of writing something myself. Let me know if this helps you Bethany, because if not, I’ll be back! =P

  2. February 5, 2011 5:49 pm

    world of warcraft is muctch better when people work in teams i use to paly AOE witch was good but pretty boring playing by yourslef but sometimes i did get sick of it

    • February 5, 2011 10:28 pm

      I used to play AoE too, not the original, but AoE2 and AoE3 and AoM. All of which very fun, but a whole lot more so with friends.

  3. ladyerinia permalink
    February 6, 2011 3:49 pm

    Ooooh, so this is what is wrong.

    Okay…PEP TALK ENGAGE!

    Now now, it’s okay to have other priorities. Obviously your novel is taking precedence and you are very obviously enjoying writing it. If you’d rather edit a chapter than PUG a heroic, by all means, go for it!

    However, if you do want to play WoW, maybe you could go through and do some dungeons and raids Old School style. Missed doing Molten Core? What about my favourite dungeon ever: Karazhan? Get another person (cough boyfriend cough) and run through them. While the encounters will be brief at level 85, you’ll see get to see them. You can choose to go quick, or go slow. You don’t have to see them all at once.

    These old raids are easy now, so there is no pressure, but, they are still fun.

    Kara for instance hosts a chess game (think Harry Potter chess in the 1st movie where Ron, Hermione, and Harry each controlled a piece) as well as an opera involving either Romeo and Juliet, the Big Bad Wolf, or the Wizard of Oz.

    My point is, don’t worry about the gear or professions, just go have fun. See some areas you probably didn’t get a chance to see while leveling.

    ❤ No worries Bethany.

    • February 6, 2011 3:52 pm

      CHESS GAME?!

      WHY HAS NO ONE TOLD ME ABOUT THE CHESS GAME!

      I’d heard about the opera, but had not done it…mostly because I forgot about it due to the distraction that is Cataclysm.

      Good pep talk. 🙂

  4. Chris permalink
    February 7, 2011 11:51 pm

    Lol, don’t know how this page showed up. Anyhow – get out of your funk by leaving the game completely! 😉

    Well, I play, but I’m leaving as of Feb 20th (subscription ends). They’ve taken away the casual fun it used to be. Granted I played a lot, now shit just takes too much time, so I’m opting to just stop playing. Probably better for my mental health anyhow. lol!

    Good luck to you. I know, terrible pep talk. But shit… If you need to be pep talked into playing something that appears to be boring you… I dunno..

  5. February 8, 2011 12:23 pm

    I have been feeling exactly the same recently. I want to play, but then I just don’t. I thought the love is in the air festival would help break me back into WoW after I took a week off following a particularly bad PuG, but the event is so bugged that its just annoying. But logging in to see that event seemed to have done the trick, I had a really productive WoW day yesterday, managing to complete 3 heroics, get some gear upgrades and a couple of achievements, even if I did spend almost 3 hours running through Grim Batol (eek) Oh and I also changed my race and that gave me a bit of a boost…bye bye Undead and hello Blood Elf.

    Hope you get your WoW mojo back soon…and if you don’t good luck with the novel! 🙂

  6. February 9, 2011 12:11 am

    I will agree that the game has lost a lot of it’s casual fun, but I still enjoy the game, and playing with people I know. I won’t have that by going to a new game, so I might as well stick around.

    I hadn’t known you didn’t know about Chess, I would have mentioned it. Karazhan is the only raid that has something like Opera and Chess, which I think there needs to be more of. However, I wouldn’t have been able to make the Harry Potter reference, since I never read or watched any of it.

Trackbacks

  1. Wolfing Out: Meet Elenie « Sorority Girl Plays WoW

Leave a Reply

