Skip to content

WoW on USA’s Fairly Legal!

January 22, 2011

So, this morning I woke up, made coffee, poured a bowl of cereal only to find that the milk was bad, put on shoes, walked across the street to buy milk, came back home, poured milk into the cereal, and sat down on the couch to watch the Buffy marathon on Oxygen my friend Courtney texted me about (aka the reason I got out of bed.)

As I turned on the TV, I discovered that Buffy wasn’t on Oxygen in NYC. It had been on earlier in the day, but wasn’t anymore. (Courtney lives in Aspen, so in Aspen-time, it was still on.) So, as I sat on my couch with my cereal and coffee, I decided that I’d just find something else to watch. That something ended up being the pilot of USA’s new show Fairly Legal. (I promise promise promise this is going somewhere.)

So I’m kind of watching, and eating my cereal, and checking my email, and drinking my coffee, when something on screen catches my eye–and that thing is World of Warcraft.

Turns out, the main character’s assistant, Leo, plays World of Warcraft (AT WORK!!!) and while explaining his gnome’s tactic in Wintergrasp to main character Kate, she gets a little inspiration on how to solve one of the episode’s problems. AND it involves (the oh-so terrible destruction of) a limited edition Buffy the Vampire Slayer watch. Hooray!

Other than that, the show also boasts Matthew Trucco from BSG as a cast member. And Kate wears Louboutins. Those are pretty much the highlights.

Know of other shows with WoW-playing characters? Let me know in comments!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ladyerinia permalink
    January 23, 2011 3:53 pm

    Hmm…the only one I can think of off the top of my head is Columbus in Zombieland. The movie starts out with him playing WoW.

  2. ladyerinia permalink
    January 23, 2011 11:35 pm

    Gah! Bethany! I watched Fairly Legal because you blogged about it. Revel in your power! Revel! (also, it was good!)

    • January 24, 2011 10:38 am

      /reveling.

      I’m glad you liked it! I’m not entirely sold on it yet, but the pilot was cute! And I like Leo a whole bunch. 🙂

  3. January 27, 2011 5:26 pm

    That … is … HILARIOUS!!!!

  4. March 7, 2011 8:34 am

    I saw that episode randomly too, it was awesome being able to relate to the show in such an odd way, and I loved that I knew all about what he was talking about, and I had to say, the though ‘omg, he plays ally? ugh’ ran through my head.

Leave a Reply

