Skip to content

How to Train Your Dragon Loves WoW

January 9, 2011

Last night a couple of friends of mine came over to order take-out and watch How to Train Your Dragon. I had heard that it was an adorable movie and that I would really like it, but had for some reason not really wanted to watch it until now-ish. And while it is adorable and charming and funny and heart-warming, there was something else about the movie that struck me.

There seemed to be a lot of WoW references.
I know what you’re thinking–“Bethany, of course you would think there are WoW references, it’s a movie about Vikings and dragons.” And yes, you are right. But LOOK at one of the main characters, Stoick, who is the dad/Viking leader.

Could he not be a Bronzebeard or Wildhammer? I mean….c’mon!

And then there’s Fishlegs, the kid in dragon school who is constantly like “Okay to face this dragon, we’ll need +5 Agility, +12 Stamina, -1 Spirit, and +48 armor. Got that?” Coincidence? I think not.

The other thing in the film that really struck me were the doors to the dragon school…but I can’t find a still image of them on the interwebs. 😦 However, they straight up look like the gates of Ironforge, complete with statue. No lie.

Anyway, if you haven’t seen the film, it’s adorable and I highly recommend it for some time when you’re not playing/sleeping.

Know of any other Wow-reference laden movies? Tell me about ’em in comments! 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2011 1:13 pm

    Haven’t seen it yet but I plan on it in the future, especially after the little one is here!

    While it wasn’t meant to be a WoW-reference movie, when the hubby and I saw Eragon in theaters we were literally making WoW-reference jokes the ENTIRE movie, lol…

  2. January 9, 2011 4:18 pm

    I love How to Train Your Dragon! So cute! I noticed Fishlegs quoting stats, too, which I thought was funny, but I think that can be referencing a lot of video games, especially fantasy games / MMOs.

  3. January 28, 2011 12:14 am

    You make me want to watch this movie now, just to check out the references. But yea, stat quotes could reference a good many online games. UO, EQ, SB, WoW… the list goes on.

  4. Katie permalink
    May 2, 2014 11:44 pm

    They mention trolls and blood elves when the twins are trying to distract the big dragon

Leave a Reply

