Skip to content

This Week’s Most Notable In-Game Moments

December 12, 2010

Like everyone else (seemingly) under the sun, I’ve spent a lot of the past week playing in the new zones Cataclysm brought with it. Sadly, I haven’t been able to spend as much time playing as I’d like , so I’m only at Level 82. However, I have quested in both Hyjal and Vashj’ir, and definitely have a favorite of the two. (Hyjal, duh)
Now let my justify my pick: Hyjal is obviously a better zone because a) there are no terrifying sea monsters, b) it actually advances the plot of the game, and c) you get to hang out with Thisalee Crow who is all-around awesome. However, Vashj’ir seems to have more pop culture references, which is the saving grace of that otherwise horrid zone.
After the jump, check out my most favorite in-game moments of the past week, organized  by zone.
Vashj’ir

1. So many Hordies.
So. Many. 😦

2. So Much Dead
Refer to Number 1.

3. ONCE MORE. WITH EELING!
For those of you who aren’t as Buffy-obsessed as me (few are) what you may or may not have picked up on is that this is a reference to the musical episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Season 6, Episode 7…no, I did not look that up) which is titled “Once More with Feeling.” If you’ve never seen it, your life is not complete. Also, you cannot imagine how excited seeing this quest made me. I squealed and bounced up and down on my bed and called Nick to tell him about it.


4. Lady…La-La?
I’m not sure if this is supposed to reference Gaga (awesome) or that MTV VJ who is now married to Carmelo Anthony or to that horrible Ashlee Simpson song.
5.  Sigh
Seeing as most pop culture references make me really happy, this one just makes me roll my eyes. And that makes me feel really bitchy. But it is le truth…this a reference that had happily died and should stay that way.
Hyjal

1. GOLDRINN LOVES ME
As he should. Because Elaelia is awesome.
2.  Metallica Reference
If I were 15 be really excited about this.  However, when I got this quest I was really excited that I knew it was a Metallica reference….hahaha.
3. Thisalee Crow is My New BFF.
And I think I like her mucho. She is both badass and encouraging. 🙂

Alright, that’s all for today folks! How’s the questing/leveling going for y’all?
5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 3:01 pm

    Ahh, I love when you write about all the references, cause I only catch a minimum myself (I did catch the Lady Gaga one, I think it’s meant to reference her at least).

    I went to Vashj’ir myself, it kind of just automatically happened when the boat was attacked!! I actually enjoyed the zone, but when I level my priest, I will be taking a different route = Hyjal. Everyone seems to love Uldum though, I guess we can look forward to that.

    Oh and your picture of all the hordies makes me shiver, I would have run for my life o.o

  2. ladyerinia permalink
    December 15, 2010 5:45 am

    The expansion is rift with pop culture references. Later in Vash you get to meet Captain “Jewels” Verne (and yes, he pilots a submarine). I’m a book nerd so I squealed. Uldum also rocked my world with the references; there was Lady Humps, a whole Indiana Jones storyline, and a bunch of other things I annoyed a friend about as I discovered them. Also, to the goblins, I’m apparently bomb-diggity (is that a good thing?).

    Anyway, I’m glad I took my time to really enjoy some of the gems.

    • December 15, 2010 9:27 am

      There’s a Jules Verne reference?! YAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!

      You’ll like this–I studied abroad in Greece for a summer while in college and while on the island of Naxos I got to go to this very fancy dinner party at a very fancy home. Inside the very fancy home on their very fancy (and gorgeous) custom bookshelf was a first edition, French language version of Around the World in Eighty Days. 🙂

  3. December 18, 2010 4:18 pm

    I have to agree- I think that Vashj’ir is soooo annoying… I never like underwater quests, and now there is a whole ZONE for it? :/ Not cool.

    As far as ganking goes… Find a level 85 friend! One of my guildies helped me out to keep me from getting killed and I only died once in a 3 hour leveling spree.

Trackbacks

  1. Last Week’s Most Notable In-Game Moments « Sorority Girl Plays WoW

Leave a Reply

