Skip to content

The Random Thing That Has (Possibly) Cured My WoW-Depression

November 15, 2010

This past weekend I took a MASSIVE  break from World of Warcraft– I didn’t log in, I didn’t think about it, and I didn’t talk about it. Instead I read three books, went and saw people play Quidditch, scoured my bathroom, did laundry, outlined my NaNoWriMo novel (I’m a little late to the party, I know), and had a girl’s night with my friend Kelly that included fried food, cupcakes, and The Terminator. (It was basically the best girl’s night ever.)

I also, upon Kelly’s recommendation, downloaded and started watching season one of The Big Bang Theory. While watching last night I came across the scene you’ll see below (which made me laugh a whole bunch) and I think it has gotten me out of my World of Warcraft funk. I guess we’ll have to test this theory when I get home tonight to find out if it’s entirely true, but I’m at least not dreading the thought of playing. 🙂

 

[UPDATE: Grr Argh! So, the video doesn’t embed despite the fact that it looks like it did. You can either click this link to watch the video or click the play button and then the link that says “Watch it on Youtube.” ]

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 12:44 pm

    Can’t see it, thanks to my awful firewall. What is it?

  2. November 15, 2010 1:22 pm

    Nope, it’s not the embed that’s at fault – YT’s blocked by my firewall, as is all streaming media.

  3. November 15, 2010 5:48 pm

    Works for me! Glad you’re out of your funk a little bit.

    I’ve been in a Second Life funk… and have started doing stuff on a parallel world “InWorldz”… and now some friends and I are opening an art gallery in Second Life.

    I guess it’s a lot of pendulum swinging.

    Good luck on L80!

  4. matt moran permalink
    November 15, 2010 5:53 pm

    Ah! finally got to see it.

  5. November 16, 2010 1:07 pm

    I love this show! And I remember this clip – I always think it’s funny when TV shows make fun of MMOs, especially because sometimes the portrayals are so accurate! I hope you’re getting out of your funk and heading to 80!

  6. JohnnyDC permalink
    November 30, 2010 12:22 pm

    haha, basically the Battered Hilt.

Leave a Reply

