Skip to content

Burning Out

November 13, 2010

You guys.

I think I’m a little burned out on WoW.

Which is terrible. Especially considering that I’m at level freaking 76 and am so fracking close to 80 that it’s unbelievable.

But the thought of logging in and questing or dungeoning or arena-ing is just so…overwhelming. I used to come home excited to play. Now it seems like a chore.

Isn’t that some sort of sign of depression? Shit.

Well there you have it. I am World of Warcraft-depressed.

But I don’t want to be World of Warcraft-depressed. I want to level–really I do. But I just can’t bring myself to do it.

How do I fix this?!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. scott9000 permalink
    November 13, 2010 2:52 pm

    Fight through it…. you are at the slowest leveling part of wow. Its hard but once you hit 80 and start to accumulate epics by running heroics etc it gets fun again.

  2. November 13, 2010 3:21 pm

    I’d say take that break.
    You won’t have time to do much once you hit level 80 anyways (like raiding), since the expansion will be out too soon.

    Playing when you don’t want to will make you take that break eventually, only you will need it more and it will be for longer, the more you push yourself now. Being four levels behind when Cataclysm hits is not a problem, think of all the players who rush to 85 to find themselves just leveling another alt.

    Chance is, you will be more excited about WoW when the expansion hits, so you’ll be fine chilling a bit now 🙂

  3. November 13, 2010 3:34 pm

    By the way, I should tell you that you are experiencing something which is very common to MMO’s, which are called player life-cycles. Burning out is normal to a point I think almost all seasoned players have experienced it.

    In case you or others are interested, here’s a link: http://www.nickyee.com/daedalus/archives/001646.php

  4. November 13, 2010 5:07 pm

    Ah I hear that – I’ve had it off and on for nearly a year now.

    When I first start getting burned out the first thing I do is take a break from my main (or whatever toon I’ve been playing the most lately) and play on an alt. Playing a different class or type of character (say going from melee to a caster or healer and vice versa) is one way to “change it up” a little bit. Also, if I’m burned out on alliance and want to try something different (or new) I switch over to my hordies for a bit as some things are different for horde and alliance.

    But then if I’m to the point where NONE of that is appealing I just take a step back from the game for a bit – eventually I start missing it and decide to login again. Before closing my account last January, I left it open for about 2 months before I decided I really didn’t have anything in game I felt like doing on any of my characters and decided to pull my card off the account and just wait until I really felt like playing again, which wasn’t until this past July. I was good for about a month or so, then I took a week off for RL stuff and came back and the guild I had been enjoying on my main disbanded that week and I was lost as I had no one to raid with. I didn’t play much for the next month or so but now I find myself logging in and leveling up my alt that’s in the 70s since I want her to hit 80 by the time Cataclysm comes out.

    It comes and goes – trying the alt thing first and if that doesn’t work, just step back from the game and take a small break. Like they all say in game, real life comes before WoW =)

  5. November 13, 2010 6:36 pm

    A few levels before where you’re at now (I think it was 73) I decided I was never going to get to 80, and created a mage to level instead. It was fun to one again see that blue bar finally moving. But I have come to find that I do get burned out if I focus on one thing too much. So I jump full on into one aspect of the game and abandon all else. lol. atm I am rep grinding and only rep grinding. 3 weeks ago it was pure BG’s. 2 weeks before that all I did was level my priest. At one point all I did was have fun in midnight trade chat. Try switching your focus. forget that blue bar and go exploring! Check out some of the more unusual achieve (I recommend [Friend or Fowl], just head over to the eastern part of Howling Fjord and start killing turkeys, it’s sure to put a smile on your face. Or, my personal favorite, add too your pet collection!

    • November 13, 2010 7:05 pm

      I agree with you. That is another great way. Grab some Achieves and enjoy most of what “old wow” is.

      OH! I forgot to add when you hit 79 you get the Icecrown Wing Dungeon Quests with Jania and those are fun! 🙂

  6. November 13, 2010 7:03 pm

    It happens to all of us in our 70’s. The worst is 78 when you are halfway in and you feel so close. I suggest doing dungeons till you hit mid 77 then go to Icecrown and do the questline out there. It is really fun and takes a good amount of time and the XP is retarded good.

    Keep your chin up Bethany. I am gearing my pally at the moment and she is being a little pain. It will get easier. But, if you switched to prot you may have a little more fun. IDK hitting Hammer and judgement and shield is just kind of fun. Plus the insta que is just retarded fast.

    I promise though, it will be ok. Hit 80 then farm heroics get your gear and do an ICC. When you get to Sindragosa the first time you will be like “Rimefang” I am seriously of seeing you in the Pit of Saron fight. Then you get to Lich King and you just spank Arthas really hard because he made Lady Syl the person she is today. Then think in 3 weeks CATA!!!

    Yes I am pushing you, but then again I am one of the WoW guys and we LOVE YOU! 🙂

    Keep it up and don’t the 70’s blues destroy your mentality. Put on a movie or something. My keys to leveling are: Tv Show Series. I went through King of Queens this time with the pally.

  7. November 13, 2010 7:10 pm

    I’ve noticed that I usually get burned out when I feel I’m getting near the end of a journey which you are doing here. What’s gonna happen at lvl 80? Will there be any point to it all when my character is 80? There won’t be anymore leveling?! I can’t handle it! Etc. 🙂

    I’m exaggerating of course, but I’m guessing some people can relate.

  8. Lady Erinia permalink
    November 13, 2010 11:45 pm

    Bethany,

    Burning out on WoW or any MMO is normal and is part of the player life-cycle. You have power leveled your character and have progressed more quickly than a lot of people. I’d say that what you are experiencing is normal.

    If you dread logging on and playing the game, if it feels like a chore, then take a break. Take a few days, a week, or longer. You won’t be penalized. Taking a break allows you to relax and renew your interest in the game. Pursue something else for a while.

    If you are just tired of your main character, perhaps you could play another class.

    The level 70-80 grind is also hard. It takes a long, long time which can be very discouraging, especially for a new player. instead of trying to push to 80, maybe go back to the Old World and do some quests you may have missed, or explore a different zone. revel in how powerful you are now in comparison to how you were then.

    Just remember, there is nothing that says you have to level to 80 as quickly as you can, if at all. Take some time to enjoy the game and if you aren’t enjoying it, take a break.

    *hugs* Good luck darlin’

  9. November 14, 2010 2:20 am

    I like to think of having a “thing” to do when you get bored. For me, it’s soloing the original Stratholme. I would love to get Rivendare’s mount, but I know it’s rare, and I just love the instance so much because of the lore behind it. That, and going ganking in Stranglethorn Vale (I just found your blog, so I don’t know if you’re on a PvP server or what) always were two things that I just could NOT get enough of. So whenever I got bored during leveling (especially that 70-80 grind) I’d do one of those things.

    You really should stick through it!! I wasn’t really looking forward to end-game stuff that much, but now it’s the most fun I’ve ever had playing!

  10. November 14, 2010 9:22 pm

    I hate questing… So I tend to bribe or find someone to be my tank friend and do instances over and over until I am bored with it for the day.. It seems much faster than questing!

  11. November 15, 2010 9:53 am

    Definitely just take a break. If you don’t want to log on, don’t log on, go do whatever you want 🙂 WoW is a hobby, much like painting or going to the gym or working on old cars. If you don’t feel like doing it that day, don’t! 🙂

    Hope you feel better! Your “ugh” feeling comes from just playing too much…take a few days off and then try and play again! You will see how everything looks fresh and new and all the keys will feel wierd!

Leave a Reply

