Skip to content

Everything Deserves a Second Chance: Even The Guild

November 1, 2010
the_guild_cast

You may or may not remember my crazy controversial post (lololol)about The Guild from back in July. In my days of WoW infancy, I watched the first two seasons of the web series in the hopes that I would like it and it would give me something to kind of connect with. Unfortunately, what happened was that it put a pretty bad taste in my mouth.

Not that I didn’t appreciate the effort or the super awesome Do You Wanna Date My Avatar? video, but I just didn’t like any of the characters. At all. And I thought it was boring.

But this past weekend I ended up watching the third season of The Guild when Nick and I attended a charity Dr. Horrible Sing-Along-Blog event that was also showing The Guild. And not only did I see the third season, but I also saw the adorable and shorter-than-I-realized Felicia Day.*

Yes I realize this picture is terrible. I'm sorry. I will get a new camera soon.

Okay, so the third season: I liked it more than I thought I would! I think part of that was the addition of Mr. Wiggles, whom I deeply connect with, and I kind of liked the whole “OUR GUILD IS FALLING APART BECAUSE OF THE EVIL GUILD!!!!! WHO IS LEAD BY A MAN NAMED FAWKES!!!!!! AND HIS GUILD’S NAME  REFERENCES WWII !!!! AND THEY COLLECTIVELY CUSS A LOT!!!!!! WHAT ARE WE GONNA DO?!?!?!?!” thing.

That being said, I think what I liked most about the third season is that there was a plot that didn’t involve the characters personally grappling (or, erm, not grappling) with insecurity or overcoming social anxiety. (That sounds mean, but I’ll redeem myself.) Instead of just having the characters splash about in their one-dimensional stereotypes, they allowed them to overcome those stereotypes by problem solving and relying on others for support and going outside and gaining confidence in themselves. The characters were allowed to grow as people, which thus allowed them to grow as a guild. Huzzah!

Sooo basically you were all right. I just needed to give the third season of The Guild a shot and become a little bit more of an experienced WoW player than I was on July 20th. And even though I’m at Level 73 (REALLY?) I still think I’m more of a Mr. Wiggles than..any of the rest of them.

*Since my camera SUCKS I took a little video to prove that I did indeed see Felicia Day. The video isn’t much better than the picture, but, at least you can hear her speak.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 6:05 am

    A mini Web series on WoW? Hmm. I’ll have to check this out.

  2. Phr34k permalink
    November 2, 2010 10:20 pm

    Felicia Day ❤
    Dr Horrible ❤
    I haven't watch much of the guild, maybe I should check it out. I've seen one episode I think.

Trackbacks

  1. The Guild Season 4 & My Ever-Changing Thoughts on It « Sorority Girl Plays WoW

Leave a Reply

