Skip to content

Realization: I’m a Lazy WoW Player

October 15, 2010

Despite the fact that I play nearly every day, my knowledge of the game, my characters, and their abilities/potential isn’t expanding. I just kind of go along with the game until someone (i.e., Nick) says “Hey, have you gone to your trainer and received (insert something here)?” And I respond “Yeah.” And then he responds “WHY AREN’T YOU USING IT?”

And it’s because I don’t know what the description means. Or, if I do somehow figure that part out, I don’t understand how to use it correctly. And now that we have this Patch situation that has just changed…well, not everything but a lot of stuff, I’m doubly confused.

AND. Now I have this whole dual spec situation–which I’m super pumped about–I’m just not really sure how it all works.

Which means that I need to buckle down and do some research this weekend instead of just waiting until someone else explains it to me. The problem I run into there is that most people who blog about technical aspects of the game use the same terms that boggle my mind in-game…and so it’s this never-ending circle of confusion until I either Google or Urban Dictionary the word to try and find a definition or call Nick and ask.

So, my goal this weekend is to figure my own shit out. Hopefully by Monday I’ll know what my talent trees should look like for both of my specs (Holy and Ret), know my Ret rotation inside and out, and be able to play like a champ.

How are you guys adjusting to the Patch? Tell me about it in comments! (Comments make Bethie happy.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 1:13 pm

    My first stop whenever I don’t understand something is Elitist Jerks. I know the name sounds intimidating, but they theorycraft with the best of them. If you hit up their site and search for Ret Paladin 4.0.1 rotation, you should get a thread with a lot of opinions on what works best. Choose something that sounds like something you could handle.

    http://wow.joystiq.com/2010/10/13/the-light-and-how-to-swing-it-ret-rotation-and-cooldowns-in-4-0/

    that website is pretty good with new content too. The paladin poster posts often of changes and different things.

    Personally I find nothing works as well as talking to guildies in vent of the same class and spec. Figuring out why they do things the way they do, and usually you can gather your own conclusions from that.

    Good luck!

  2. ladyerinia permalink
    October 15, 2010 1:30 pm

    Have you been to MMO melting Pot recently? The people over there are really good about linking to class guides. Elitist jerks is kinda intimidating and can be hard to understand, but they do have some good things.

    Just remember, take it slow and work it out. I don’t know about you, but I’d rather go slow understand my abilities then rush through “figuring” it out and doing badly.

    • October 15, 2010 4:30 pm

      When I first read this, I somehow missed the MMO part of the Melting Pot…and immediately wanted fondue. Ha!

  3. October 15, 2010 5:53 pm

    It took me months and months to figure things out. I was super lucky, and was ‘adopted’ by someone who use to be in a guild of mine, and she made it her goal to gear me properly and did a ton of research on what a Hunter should be like, as her main is a Ret pally, and at the time none of her 5 alts were hunters. But it also was a crutch as I didn’t really learn at that time. It was only in a random dungeon and I was pulling terribibble DPS did some nice person point me to a hunter site to help me become a hunter and not a huntard. So my advice is this: Don’t just go to any random general class site. Do a little research, and find yourself a solid site for Paladins. Make sure it’s one that gets updated often, perhaps calling out for help in your general chat from other Paladins on sites they use. Then bookmark it.
    As for the patch, I can’t say as I haven’t been able to get into WoW 😦 On the bright side, I have been having fun reading your blog, finding other interesting blogs, and creating my own!

  4. October 17, 2010 6:08 pm

    Bethany, I’m a lazy player too and it’s alright.
    This game has a level of complexity that in order to be the perfect player, you have to study for hours and hours using outside sources, that new players barely know about. I think there’s something problematic about having to study the game outside of it to actually be able to play it at the level of perfection a lot of players expect.
    My approach is harvesting the conclusions of the hard work other people have done. I don’t do the calculations myself to find out what works the best etc, I just find strategies of playing and do that (that can take some time to find as well though). I will skip all the theorycraft to get to the conclusions, I’m not into the math behind it all.

    This patch I did this:
    – updated my addons (it’s soo boring)

    – Went to the class forums of my characters, read the few posts about playstyle,

    – then went online, chose talents using my own experience only. Sometimes this is rather random, I can always change it.

    – attacked target dummies and used an addon called “Recount” which lets you see how much damage you do. I just did stuff that I used to do and tried out random new stuff, “to get a feel”.

    – Reforged my gear to get my hit balanced, which changed my damage output A LOT.

    – attacked target dummies again and tried to employ the playstyles suggested by others.
    Toyed around with different methods, but this is where I’m not too bothered.

    – Went into a battleground with my priest with the new talent tree I gave her and just did stuff. (shadow went mixed, disc went well).

    – checked back with the forums waiting for a guide to pop up, if there’s one I trust, I’ll practice with target dummies and battlegrounds/heroics till I feel I can play the class without strain.

    I have fx not purchased new glyphs yet, cause I’m lazy. I will get it fixed in the end, but for me it’s about taking one step at a time, first I just need to get comfortable around all the new stuff.
    I’d rather play WoW, than study it!

Leave a Reply

