Skip to content

This Machine Pwns Noobs?! Oh dear…

October 11, 2010

On increasingly more occasions, my real life crosses paths with my in-game life. Although I think it’s interesting to see how my association with words like Congrats, Cataclysm, and Alliance have changed since I started playing WoW about two and half months ago, sometimes the collision of not-WoW things and WoW-things isn’t a very pleasant intersection.

I have an unabashed love for John and Hank Green, the brothers behind the (super fun) Youtube series Brotherhood 2.0. I’ve been watching them since 2008 and think they are just so much fun. But while I was watching some of their videos over the weekend, something caught my eye.

So what you see in this picture is Hank talking about…something. But if you look over his right (our left) shoulder, you’ll spy his guitar.

Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

On this guitar is written the phrase “This Machine Pwns Noobs” which is very obviously a reference to Woody Guthrie’s oh-so famous guitar that boldy (and awesomely) stated “This Machine Kills Fascists.”

I like Guthrie, so up until now, I’ve had no hard feeling toward Hank’s guitar. But now the word “noob” means something totally different to me.

And that’s because I’m a noob. Which means that Hank’s guitar will pown me. And on a deeper level, it associates me with a fascist that Guthrie wanted to kill.

I hate that. 😦

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Silvr permalink
    October 12, 2010 11:35 am

    My two cents-

    There are 2 definite grps that i think you are confusing.

    Newb and Noob

    Newb- a person new in the game that might make mistakes but is trying and enjoying the game. Open to correction and advice from others. Plays well with others. In a nutshell, even if they make mistakes they are trying to get better and fun to play with ingame.

    Noob- someone who doesnt try at all in the game, expects to have everything handed to them. Doesnt know how to speak in game other then yelling. This is your constant whiner in the party, who doesnt know how to play there class and yells at everyone else when something bad happens. They are usually broke, Canz i haz gilzz plox?!?! Won’t take constructive critizism, basicly an A$$hate.

    Believe you fall into the first catagory 🙂

    /cheers

    Silvr

  2. ladyerinia permalink
    October 13, 2010 9:49 am

    Oh yes, you are definitely a newb, not a n00b. You are actively learning and are doing well, hence newb; not ignorant and refusing to learn to play your class like a noob.

    =)

Leave a Reply

