Skip to content

Roommate Situation Update

October 7, 2010

Hey there.

So, yesterday I blogged about the fact that my new roommate is a bit of a time suck due to her loquacious friendliness and asked you guys to give me advice on how to tell her to calm down and back away for a bit.

And boy did y’all deliver.

By far the most popular solution to this problem was getting her addicted to WoW. I really like this suggestion, mostly because it’s very optimistic. Not only do you believe in the game, but you believe in my ability to sell the game to someone else. That’s sweet.

However, some of you had some more, er, creative suggestions.

The old bait and switch. I like your style Llani.

Umm….I can’t afford cocaine.

Never in a million years did I think that someone would suggest that I not only smite my new roommate, but that I holy nova her (whatever that is) AND THEN EAT HER. And then smile about the suggestion of KILLING AND EATING HER.

So, for those of you who want to know how I told her, it was pretty simple. I actually took Ironyca‘s advice (with a little twist) and kind of spun it like this:

Roommate: “Hey! What are you doing tonight?”

Me: “Making dinner. Watching last night’s Glee. And then playing World of Warcraft.”

Roommate: “You play World of Warcraft?”

Me: (wincing) “Yeah, I have this blog about it. And to blog about it, I have to play…so…”

Roommate: “Oh cool! I’ve never played WoW, but I’m really, like, into Halo and Call of Duty. My boyfriend got me hooked on them, and now I beat him when we play. He doesn’t like that so much.”

Me: (giddy) “Awesome!!!!”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 8:34 pm

    Haha that’s awesome!
    Turns out she’s a gamer herself, that’s great news, means you actually -can- “sell” it to her. She got hooked on Halo, I bet she’ll get hooked on WoW as well.
    There is a chance it could backfire and she would want to play with you all the time instead though!

    • ladyerinia permalink
      October 8, 2010 12:22 am

      OH! If she wants to play, make sure you REFER A FRIEND!

  2. October 8, 2010 8:13 am

    Score!!!! Omg definitely give her a 10 day trial! And yes do it through the refer a friend — send her an email through your battlenet account =)

    Yay I’m so glad it worked out, and with a twist too! Halo is fun also! =)

Leave a Reply

