Skip to content

My New Roommate is Stealing All of My WoW Time

October 6, 2010

So, I have two roommates, one of whom is new and moved in this past Sunday. She’s super sweet and very nice (she bought me a loaf pan!!) …but she’s also very clingy.

You see, I really enjoy coming home, putting on pajamas (because I refuse to wear real clothes when I’m home), making dinner, and then watching TV, reading, and playing WoW.

The past two nights, new roommate has pounced on me when I come home, and then proceeded to talk to me the rest of the night.

It’s tiring. And kind of annoying considering that I want to make dinner, watch TV, read (I’ve just started The Hunger GamesI’m obsessed.), and play WoW.

Annnnnndddddd, I don’t want to say, “Hey, so, this is really cute and all, but….I need to go play World of Warcraft now.” because:

1) she’s new and I don’t want to freak her out (sorry…but I have a feeling that she’s one of those that perceives WoW in the way South Park displayed it.)

2) I’m not good at telling people about my WoW-playing quite yet. It’s not that I’m ashamed of it…I just don’t really know how to ease people into the knowledge that I play.

3) I don’t want to be the hermit-y, bitchy roommate that doesn’t want to hang out with her. I do want to. Just not all night.

Advice?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Karina permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:38 am

    Tell her that you are there for her and whatever she need you’ll help. Then you tell her you need your “alone” time to do some stuff! II’m sure she will understand

  2. ladyerinia permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:52 am

    Maybe, it’s been nice chatting with you but I need to go work on some things now….or…give her a free trial and get her addicted? πŸ˜›

  3. October 6, 2010 11:57 am

    [smite] > [holy nova] > [cannibalisme]

    Then play wow and never speak of this again πŸ˜›

  4. October 6, 2010 1:12 pm

    Tell her I had a great time talking to you yesterday, I bought you a gift.

    Its a WOW time card, do you WOW?

    Maybe you could do a Recruit A Friend and you both benefit hehe

  5. October 6, 2010 2:37 pm

    I would try and cook a big dinner on a Thursday or Friday night..and then say that you’ll spend some time together then but you need some time to shower and relax…or just go hide in the shower..and then go straight to your computer πŸ˜›

  6. October 6, 2010 3:04 pm

    I’d wait it out a week or so – like you said, she’s a new roommate, she’s probably just eager to get to you know and feel comfortable around you, etc.

    I’m sure once she settles in she’ll calm down, the excitement and “new-ness” will wear off and she’ll start doing her own thing.

    I remember when I first moved into my college apartment with my friend another girl we both mutually knew, all 3 of us had started playing WoW in the few months prior to moving in together, but we kept our doors open and still interacted for a bit at the beginning, but then we all got into our own individual habits and things seemed more “normal”.

  7. October 6, 2010 4:50 pm

    On nr 2:
    I’d advice you to not be too outspoken about playing WoW, not because it’s bad to play WoW, but because WoW is suffering from a stigma, even amongst other gamers, unless you don’t mind the look you sometimes get from people. Speaking from experience, some will barely know what it is, some will be okay with it, and some will look at you strangely.

    If people ask about my hobbies, I’ll usually add either “playing computer games” or perhaps even “I like Massive Multiplayer Online Roleplaying Games (MMORPG’s)” (which is what WoW is) besides the other hobbies, in your case reading etc.

    If someone catches the computer games thing, and asks me which MMO I play, I answer WoW, and you could even say you play it as a personal experiment and run a successful blog about it.
    I think that sounds pretty cool!

  8. October 15, 2010 5:43 am

    I play because I like the interacting with people that I grow to be close friends with without ever leaving my home. I am naturally a home body, and so MMORPG’s are perfect for me. BTW, up until that ironyca’s post, I had only a slight idea what that stood for. And WoW is my first real game, although I have played Sims and own a seldom used wii.

    I never talk about playing WoW with my family, as we just get in a huge fight, them not understanding that you can build friendships online and it not be totally creepy. A RL friend introduced me to the game, and though we don’t really play together in-game, it’s fun to talk about outside of Azaroth. And a /wave from a friend while running through Dal always puts a smile on my face.

    As for telling people I play WoW: I don’t. I will approach someone if I know they play, and I don’t hide the fact that I play, but idk, it just seems like it has to much of a stigma to it. Which is sad. really, we need to start a campaign that shows how many of us ‘normal’ people play WoW, or is a gamer in general. I bet the world would be surprised.

Trackbacks

  1. So, why do you play WoW? And how do you convey this to others? | Read Between The Lines

Leave a Reply

