Skip to content

Book Chat Review: Arthas, Rise of the Lich King

October 2, 2010

Okay, people. I finished Arthas on my lunch break at work yesterday, and have thus expanded by World of Warcraft-ing from the confines of my home to the work place.*

So, Arthas: Rise of the Lich King is basically the first fantasy novel I’ve read as an adult. And, to be honest, I was highly skeptical about it. I’m not really sure why, but I just thought “This is going to be hella-cheesy and not well-written.”

Thankfully, I was very wrong.

Not only were Christie Golden’s prose vivid, but they were also very accessible. My concern was that there would be so many references to things in the game that I don’t understand yet, that I would have to slog my way through the book. But that wasn’t my experience at all!

I think above all, it just really helped put some things into perspective. While questing I’ve had zero idea what references to the Scourge and Arthas actually meant–I knew they weren’t good, but, other than that, didn’t truly get the terror or whatever.

(I would put up a spoiler alert here, but I think, considering my audience, everyone already  knows the story…lol)

But…the book made me really sad.I guess it’s because I’m a girl and I tend to like a happy ending, but I was really hoping that somehow Jaina would figure out that Arthas was just a puppet and would somehow save him before he completely destroyed his humanity.

BUT, because Jaina is such a powerful little mage-y, maybe she, along with that blood elf who’s so in love with her (one of the Kaels…there were, like, seven of them) that he decides that his love for her is so strong that he only wants to see her happy and if that involves Arthas then so be it, can find a way to bring him back from angry, lichy evil.

Just let me hope that that’s how it ends. K?

Also, I have to talk about how much I effing love Sylvanas Windrunner. I love her a whole lot. A whole, whole lot. She is sassy and has gumption. And those are two things that I a) admire and b) hope I have. Oh, and a third! I, c), hope that if I ever have a daughter, that she is both sassy and gumption-y.

Perhaps I’ll name her Sylvanas (and Veronica and Buffy) so that she has no choice but to have those qualities.

*So, one of my co-workers saw me reading the book, and he cocked his head, looked at me and said, “Are you reading a World of Warcraft book?” And I said yes, and he shook his head,  said “You are such a mystery,” and walked off!

THEN, he sent me an email wanting to talk about it because he used to play Everquest (which I had never heard of) but had never ventured into WoW territory because his addiction to Everquest almost made him fail college or something. It was very random.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2010 1:47 pm

    Ah Evercrack… er, Everquest… I remember the first summer I started working at the movie theater there was a group of guys, 2 of which were management, who played and ALWAYS talked about it. Me playing WoW for the first time that summer, I got that it was similar, but never really had an interest in playing.

    My college roommate got a free trial of Everquest once, after having played WoW for a good 2 years at least and she tried it and I watched a little. It was similar, but having played WoW for awhile before, we both preferred the gameplay of it better.

    There’s also Guild Wars which you’ll probably come in contact with players of at some point or another – it’s basically taking the PVP aspect of WoW and that’s pretty much it. The graphics aren’t nearly as good, and I hated the gameplay of the early zone you start out in. I tried it for a few hours and was like “this is kinda boring, I’m gonna go play WoW now.” lol…

    Just wait til you get to Northrend and all the Wrath of the Lich King expansion content in your 70s-80 leveling – there’s so much involving Arthas and his storyline, even if you hadn’t read a book to fill you up, there’s a good handful of “flashback” quests where you get to see what happened and how Arthas went bad… (make sure in Dragonblight when you get there you do the Wrathgate quest chain – omg the last half of it and the cinematic you get to watch… omg my mouth dropped in was in awe of how well they had done something like that and included it in game! It’s definitely one of the more memorable moments in game, but if you don’t do the early quests you can easily miss out on it!). Also, when you get to 80 there’s a fun newer instance they’ve put in – Halls of Reflection, where Jaina is your guide and you’re basically running from Arthas for the last half of the instance – it’s pretty fun!

  2. October 3, 2010 9:23 am

    Good day!This was a really brilliant blog!
    I come from roma, I was luck to come cross your topic in google
    Also I get much in your subject really thanks very much i will come again

  3. ladyerinia permalink
    October 3, 2010 1:26 pm

    I just could not get into the WoW books. I tried. I really…really tried. Alas.

  4. Silvr permalink
    October 4, 2010 10:13 am

    If you like Sylvanas, which it looks like you do, you need to pick up some of the other wow novels. The Windrunner sisters, are prevalent throughout the game and in the wow novels. Sylvanas is the oldest, Vareesa the middle, and Alleria the youngest. You probably have meet Alleria and maybe not caught her last name until now 🙂 She is an NPC in Outlands with her love ( maybe husband) Turalyon ( he being one of the first Paladins ordained by the church along with Uther the Lightbringer, Tirion Fordring, and Gavinrad).I think they are located at the first alliance base right as you come thru the portal in outlands (hellfire peninsula) Vareesa you will meet in Dalaran when you get to Northrend, she is married too, the leader of the Kirin Tor, Rhonin. At least 3 of the novels i have read have each of them as main characters or close to the main characters. But your character assesment of Sylvanas can be applied to all of the Windrunners!

    /cheers

    Silvr

    • October 4, 2010 11:21 am

      WAIT. In Arthas, Sylvanas thinks that Alleria has died because she crossed through the portal and never came back…I knew that she’d be somewhere in the Outlands! *does the my-assumptions-were-correct dance*

      I’ll make sure to seek her out when I play tonight…

Trackbacks

  1. What are good WoW books for a Horde player?
  2. Last Week’s Most Notable In-Game Moments « Sorority Girl Plays WoW
  3. Holy NPC Day, Batman! « Sorority Girl Plays WoW
  4. Book Chat Review: The Shattering « Sorority Girl Plays WoW

Leave a Reply

