Skip to content

Book Chat: Arthas, Rise of the Lich King

September 28, 2010

Hiiiii.

So, about a month back Nick and I had a discussion about the overarching story of World of Warcraft. Since I am still a very new player who is leveling pretty quickly (from what I understand…I could be mistaken about that), I often feel that I’m missing out on the “story” of it all.

Being a person who studied history during undergrad and is now a book editor/writer, stories are pretty important to me. I find it essential to know the why and how behind everything. And I love telling stories.

Anyway, the fact that I didn’t quite understand what the eff is happening in World of Warcraft is only exacerbated by all of the Cataclysm hullaballoo, leaving me feeling utterly lost and confused while playing.

And then Nick told me about the World of Warcraft books.

I’m only about halfway through Arthas: Rise of the Lich King by Christie Golden, and I must tell you that I am greatly enjoying it and that the story is finally starting to make sense. At least, the Lich King story.

I’m not really sure if this one is the “best” book to start with, but it’s the one that Nick had and I didn’t have to buy it. And not spending money is ALWAYS a good thing in my life these days. But it’s made me interested in reading the rest of the books, just for clarity’s sake.

And who knows? Perhaps I’ll find a new career in writing novels based off of games!

Which reminds me…do any of you write fanfic? Or know of someone who does? I’m kind of interested in the process….or if there is even a process. Anyway, hit me up in comments or email me (wowsororitygirl@gmail.com) and let me know about what you think about 1) the WoW books and 2) fanfic.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 11:53 pm

    Another good, quick way to learn the basic storyline behind the game is to play Warcraft 3.

    I’m not big on the whole realtime strategy games, but my ex knew a few cheats to help speed up the game play so I could read/watch the storyline. It tells the story of how Thrall became the Horde Warchief and the Jaina Proudmoore/Arthas storyline too.

    Most guys I know have it or have at least played it – I’d ask Nick if he has a copy he could loan to you and then just look up the quick play cheats online so you can just read/watch the storyline like I did =)

Leave a Reply

