Skip to content

Social Call: Harvest Festival & Pirate’s Day

September 20, 2010

Now that I’ve discovered that the WoW social calendar exists, I’m a little obsessed with it. This was my first big weekend of in-game social events, what with both Harvest Fest & Pirate Day going on this weekend. And then tomorrow starts Brewfest (Increased rep with Ironforge = closer to Riding Ram)!! Apparently September is a very friendly month around Azeroth.

In addition to the in-game social interaction, this weekend included much more real-life social interaction than is my norm–I went to dinner with some friends at this awesome Southern restaurant in the Lower East Side on Saturday night and then went to church with my roommates and hung out with some girls in the sorority alumni group in Central Park today.

I’ve been a bit of a busy bee.

However, I think I’ve done a pretty good job of balancing my two distinct social obligations and have documented the one you care about after the jump.

Harvest Fest

Although Harvest Fest was cool, it was a bit of a letdown. I’m a little upset that when I went all the way to the Western Plaguelands to honor Uther Lightbringer, his ghost didn’t, like, say thank you or give me advice or a buff or something.

I’m also slightly annoyed that there weren’t Thanksgiving-type foods to consume. I was really hoping for Elaelia to earn some sweet potato casserole or some stuffing or something.

Buuuut I guess that’s alright.

Pirate’s Day

Pirate’s Day wasn’t quite as exciting as I thought it was going to be. I was expecting there to be tons of people stumbling around Booty Bay and arrrrr-ing every five seconds….but that wasn’t exactly what I got. But at least Pirate’s Day came with fun clothing!

In my humble opinion, Elaelia looks damn good as a pirate wench.

And an achievement!

And drunken shenanigans!

Now I’m trying to mentally prepare for Brewfast and the vast amount of in-game drunkeness that is going to require. But I’m excited. Because…who doesn’t like dwarves and beer?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ladyerinia permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:18 pm

    Brewfest is the absolute best holiday. I have a blast with it every year.

  2. Silvr permalink
    September 21, 2010 8:54 am

    Brewfest is my all time favorite holiday in game. The first year they had it i got both riding mounts the brewfest ram and brewfest kodo ( Tauren mount) they both have a chance of dropping off of the fight with Corin Direbrew. Whats nice is Blizzard added the fight to the looking for dungeon group screen. just bring up the interface and click on the drop down for dungeon and you will see his name Corin Direbrew. You can que for the fight as many times as you want but you only get a bag of spoils on the first time each day. So basicly once a day you get a shot at the mounts. What else…. ohh you get a pet Wolpertinger (bunny with wings, fangs, and antlers) also lots of stuff to buy from the gnome vendor there-highlights to include a pintsized pink pacyderm (baby pink elephant), goggles that turn everyone else into gnomes(make everyone one look attractive …to a gnome). clothes that look like traditional german octoberfest clothes ie. laderhozen(sp?). Last but not least there are tons of beers,sausages, pretzels, breads, and cheeses to eat as well as a commorative beer stein for you to keep, this years is green.

    /cheers and happy brewfest!

    Silvr

    • September 21, 2010 9:32 am

      Magic gnomey vision and lederhosen.

      FANTASTIC.

      I’m so glad I have you to clue me in….lol.

  3. Silvr permalink
    September 21, 2010 8:58 am

    Doh, forgot the title for completing the meta achievement! “Brewmaster” in front of your characters name.

    So “Brewmaster Elaelia” is what your character placard would read.

    Good luck and have fun!

    Silvr

  4. September 30, 2010 4:34 pm

    “I was really hoping for Elaelia to earn some sweet potato casserole or some stuffing or something.”

    Check out the month of November on the calendar…

    There’s “Pilgrim’s Bounty”…

    And it’s a holiday that comes with plenty o’ recipes to level up your cooking with =)

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Social Call: Harvest Festival & Pirate’s Day « Sorority Girl Plays WoW -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

