Skip to content

Increased Level = Increased Attitude?

September 14, 2010

As a writer, I am not a sensitive person. I can take criticism, and edits, and disrespectful interviewees, and angry commenters in stride. I’ve learned to not take it personally. Just keep all of that in mind when I postulate this next statement..

I believe that as you increase in level, the attitude from the in-game quest givers also increases.

And I have proof!

Ummmm, demanding much? [Also, there is an in-game typo. There should be a comma between you and I in the second sentence. I’m an editor. Don’t judge.]

Okay, so maybe that isn’t sooo bad. After all, the guy did deliver Mokk.

But then there’s this guy.

Whaaaaaat?! Can you believe that condescending asshole? I’ll do a lot of things for someone willing to pay me in gold….because I’m still poor.

And then, after I accept his offer–despite the overtly condescending tone–he has the gall to say this!

Dude, at least use my name if you’re going to be rude.

Has anyone else picked up on this pattern? Or am I just being super sensitive?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jonathan permalink
    September 14, 2010 1:38 pm

    I’ve never noticed this but then again I don’t really read the quest info mainly because I hate questing and only do so when I have tooo…

    Maybe that’s because my toons are mostly healers and I just farm randoms with near instant queues for exp? Idk.

    I have noticed it in Runescape though! In all my 5 years of playing it I’ve seen quite a few crazy-in-the-head quest givers.

  2. ladyerinia permalink
    September 14, 2010 4:30 pm

    I’ve found that some groups are worse than others. It can be really annoying because I don’t like being talked down to :(. But cenarion circle and cenarion expedition exalted rep are totally worth it for the hippogryph you can get! Tis my favourite mount in the game!

  3. Silvr permalink
    September 16, 2010 10:38 am

    In a nutshell, this is Blizzards way of giving there characters in game a little flavor. The comma, i believe, was left out on purpose to give the quest giver ( a troll) a more island accent. Trolls talk like they come for the West Indies or Jamaica, a very heavy island accent.
    That particular druid that gave you the quest, Staghelm, is kind of the interim leader of the Druids while the real leader ( Malfurion Stormrage) is indisposed ( Cataclysm, the new expansion, will have Malfurion resurface). There is a lot more to what Malfurion is doing but im trying to keep this short πŸ™‚ Anyhoo, the Night Elves (Kaldorei)
    are the oldest race and many of the NPC’s can be a little haughty. Again Blizzard is trying to “flesh out” the races and characters of Azeroth, give them depth so to speak, to in turn make your experience in the game that much more enjoyable.
    Dwarfs= boisterous, brawlers, love there beer
    Night Elves= Ancient, reserved, in harmony with nature
    Humans= most numerous, youngest race, passionate about life
    Gnomes= Intelligent, no common sense, tinkers, mischievious, exuberant.
    my take of the 4 orginal races for the alliance. Off the top of my head.

    /cheers

    Silvr

    • September 16, 2010 2:54 pm

      Your comments always provide so much perspective! Thank youuuuu. πŸ™‚

  4. September 16, 2010 7:51 pm

    Cheer up, Fandral is an exception rather than the norm. Most quest-givers, even at level +70, are quite polite, and gnomish ones are particularly a delight.

    Hey, that *almost* rhymes.

Leave a Reply

