Skip to content

I Have Major Dungeon Anxiety

August 11, 2010
by

I don’t know if you guys felt this way when you began playing, but the idea of dungeons makes me really nervous. I think it’s mostly due to the fact that I have to play with other, most likely more experienced, players who could yell/laugh at me, but it also has to do with the fact that things move really quickly in the dungeons and there’s so many things happening at once that I get lost and can’t tell who is who and what is what…and I get overwhelmed. And then I sweat. And feel really stupid.

Typically once I’m in the dungeon, I do alright. I’ve done both healing and DPS while in them, and I think there was only one time where I majorly screwed up while healing and it was because my internet was lagging….and everyone died. so normally once I know what I need to do, I’m okay at doing it. But there are other things to consider besides just performing your role well.

For example, when there are those items to roll for when everyone is looting and they ask you if you need it or greed it or whatever, I never know what to put! I feel like I don’t have time to pull up my character chart thing to compare what I have equipped to what is being offered because people won’t wait on me and I don’t want them to leave without me because I’ll probably get lost unless I follow them, and I don’t want to select need on something that I actually don’t need because I’ve been in dungeons where someone gets something that they shouldn’t get (for whatever reason) and then people yell at them and/or kick them out of the dungeon.

And I don’t want to be the dungeon pariah.

So I always pick greed. And I’ve probably missed out on stuff that I actually do need because I’m so concerned about people yelling at me.

It’s like I have this weird form of virtual social anxiety. And  I’m not quite sure what to do about it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. goDDyGodsen permalink
    August 11, 2010 4:08 pm

    hovering above an object in the roll window will show you the stats, like “+ 13 attackpowe, -0.21% crit rating” and so on.
    take your time.
    and if you get kicked, so what. don’t give a fufu on that jerks >.<

  2. Xrl permalink
    August 11, 2010 5:50 pm

    It is completely normal. Nowadays I feel nervious. When u have done that dungeon hundred times u get moré selfconfident. It is all about experience. Like in real life u are a Pro when u repeat things many times. Dps role is a more relaxed task. Combine roles and u’ll xp another kind of dungeon. I felt the same years ago

  3. August 11, 2010 6:14 pm

    You can hover the item box when it pops up and it shows the item you’re currently wearing next to the on your rolling on so you can see the stats without having to open up your character screen.

    At the lower levels (and now with the cross server dungeon finder) just need if you need something, greed if you don’t. Odds are most of the characters you’re playing with are just alts of those with higher characters and they’re just playing for fun, not working on their first character. If you decide later in the dungeon you don’t think you need an item and won it over someone else they’ve changed it now so you can trade the item with people in your group, so if you change your mind, you can pass it onto whoever else rolled need and just tell them you thought you needed it, but after looking it over, it’s not really that big an upgrade afterall and they can have it.

  4. November 14, 2010 2:40 am

    Oh my gosh! I thought I was the only one! It must be a girl thing!

    I would only do dungeons if I knew at least 2 other people in it, which, for a really long time, was just me, my boyfriend at the time, and one of our friends. I tanked when I was leveling, and I was so scared of messing up!

    I, to this day, have only done one random dungeon by myself, without anyone else in my group. Dungeon anxiety = totally normal. 🙂

  5. February 18, 2011 10:19 am

    you can dungeon with us. I suck too. I play with my bf and he is the tank. I heal. You should play with us and there is no pressure. we can go slow cause thats what i do. Then you can learn. you can add my email to your friends list.

  6. February 26, 2011 9:27 pm

    OMG. I KNOW!! There are so many things on your blog that I agree with!!
    The first dungeon I did, I actually cried. I was so stressed and everyone seemed to know what they were doing except for me. I was sooooo scared. LOL

  7. December 29, 2012 6:33 pm

    It’s amazing to see someone else describe exactly how I feel about dungeons. I find I’m OK as long as I’m with at least one player I know. On my own with a random group, I just can’t/won’t do it. Then I feel stupid and a bit cross with myself for being a coward.
    Thanks for posting though. It makes me feel a bit better! x

Leave a Reply

