Skip to content

Elling Trias: Cheese Master. Shady Dealer. My Fave.

August 10, 2010

Despite the fact that I pretty much hate Stormwind City due to its weird network of bridges and canals that make my head hurt, there is one thing I really like about it– it’s home to Elling Trias.

Although he masquerades as the cheese master and proprietor of Trias Cheeses, he is also the contact person for a number of kind of shady dealings…including being the informant on quests that involve killing people or finding missing persons but keeping it all on the DL.

And he has an eyepatch.That obviously denotes some serious involvement in bad-assery. AND people are always telling Elaelia that she shouldn’t tell people about her association with him…but they never give her a reason why.

Which can only mean one thing: He. Is. Awesome.

Trias is without a doubt, my favorite character. Because, who doesn’t want a well-connected, kind of shady cheese maker who wears an eyepatch in their lives?

Furthermore, the fact that his attitude is reminiscent of Phillip Seymour Hoffman’s truly inspired depiction of legendary music critic/awesome person Lester Bangs in Almost Famous (one of my faves) only adds to his appeal. See the below convo to see what I mean. Pay particular attention to the second paragraph.

Now I’m going to ask you to do some work….but it’s worth it in the end. Compare Trais’ little remark to this totally bootleg Youtube video of one of my favorite scenes in Almost Famous….and if you’re impatient, jump to 2:13 to get the immediate connection/payoff.

So similar, right? Okay, so maybe it’s a bit of a stretch. Okay, I just really wanted an excuse to write about Almost Famous. But I honestly thought about Lester Bangs the first time I read that quest!

In sum, Elling Trias is my World of Warcraft Lester Bangs.

And I love everything about that.

Leave a Reply

