Skip to content

NEVER EVER Go to a Modeling Convention…Unless You’re Over 5’11”

July 28, 2010
by

As you may or may not have noticed, my blog posting activity has been, well, zilch the past couple of days. This is due to a freelance job I took covering a modeling convention. Why did I do this, you astutely ask? To make some cash monies, yo. (Sadly, blogging about WoW doesn’t pay. Well, it doesn’t pay me at least.)

At first I was really, really excited about covering this event. It’s a modeling convention! Think of all the glamour and the fashion and the pretty people! Well all of those factors are there, except for that it’s more sad and hopeless than glamorous and couture. (I know you’re all so surprised.)

This particular modeling convention is for aspiring models and actors who are trying to get signed. Which is great for them because some of them are goooorgeous and will get work and contracts. But at the same time, it’s really depressing because you see just how dismissive and judgmental the agents are. They hardly look at the models before shooing them away.

Anyway. The last couple of days I’ve been working for about 12 hours straight, interviewing these assholians, who, btw, don’t want to give me the time of day because I’m 1) short, 2) nosy, and 3) short. I LITERALLY had an agent look at me and before I had a chance to introduce myself as a writer say, “Honey, you’re too old and WAY too short to ever model.” Thanks for the advice, bitch. Now let me interview you–btw, she wasn’t nice even when she realized I’m the press.

The only bright spot was meeting an agent’s assistant who was as miserable as I was, and joking with him about how all I want to do is go read the graphic novel I’m in the middle of  (Yes, I am aware that I just ended a sentence with a preposition. I don’t care right now.) Then he told me that all he wants to do is go to Neptune Diner. AND THEN he said “I just want to hang out with food prepared by the god of the sea. That’s all.” We’re obviously BFF now.

Bottom line: I’ve spent the last two days feeling very unattractive and wishing that I was at home playing WoW instead of being surrounded by such terrible, awful, soul sucking people. Luckily, I’m working from home today and will be able to take a break in a bit to play some WoW. Hopefully I’ll get a blog in tonight or tomorrow.

How have y’all been?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wraithkiller permalink
    July 28, 2010 5:23 pm

    Wow that sounds like it must of been…..THE GREATEST TIME OF YOUR LIFE! lol j/p no that sucks at least your at home now where you don’t have to deal with those “soul suckers”

  2. xrl permalink
    July 28, 2010 5:24 pm

    well… Ehr… What did u expect?
    Those people’s brain are empty. Superficial and tough. Nice to watch them but nothing else.

  3. Keegan Haanschoten permalink
    July 29, 2010 12:26 pm

    Soul sucking, eh? http://www.wowwiki.com/Devourer_of_Souls

Trackbacks

  1. Heeeyyyy Duuuuude! (or, Bethany Talks Excitedly About Dagger Hills) « Sorority Girl Plays WoW

Leave a Reply

