Skip to content

Bethany Plays WoW, Day 2

July 10, 2010
by

On Day 2 of playing WoW I discovered something: this game is a time-suck.

No wonder people spend countless hours in-game! You lose track of time wondering around, getting quests, completing quests, fighting things, dying, finding your body, etc. And then you look at the time, which is conveniently tiny in the game, and you’re like “Holy shit balls, it’s 1:00 AM.”

Or at least, that’s what I was like since I meant to play until 12:30 so that I could go to sleep and prepare for round two interview. (It went well, btw. In fact, I’m going in on Tuesday for what I think will be my first day. Which is awesome.)

Anyway.

I also played solo on Day 2! And it wasn’t terrible! Although, I did die twice because the stupid sea witches (aka sea bitches) double teamed me and I didn’t realize I had healing potions. That’s a handy thing to remember. So once that was taken advantage of, everything was fine. And I’m at Level 9. Yeehaw!

After the jump, I’ve listed my most notable thoughts during Day 2 of playing. There are also pretty pictures.

1. How I love Mr. Chilly!
I don’t really how/why I have him, but I’m sooo glad that I do! He’s so cute! But does he do anything? Or does he just follow me around?

2. The Spirit World is really pretty.
It’s so cool looking! Which is sort of the macabre upside to dying in the game.

3. When did I enter The Iliad?
Don’t get me wrong, I love a good Homer reference. And while I do enjoy both Odysseus and Menelaus, why are they in this game?! And why is Odysseus a pirate?! Also, should I look forward to meeting Helen and Ajax and the rest of that crew anytime soon?

4. I desperately need an external mouse
Using the MacBook mouse pad just isn’t going to cut it. It’s surprisingly difficult for me to use the keyboard to run and right click. Maybe it’s because I haven’t tried enough. But I think I just need to buy a mouse.


4. I Spy….a Tree. On a beach.
Can we please consider the fact that being a giant, leafy tree on a beach is weird? And a terrible disguise.

5. I love the word Aberrant.
And therefore love the Aberrant Owlbeast despite the fact that it wants to eat me. I really like that he has horns. Also, who came up with the idea to create a beast that is based on an owl? But that is beside the point. The point is this: way to go Blizzard for having a vocabulary!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 3:32 pm

    Ooh I played on a Mac Powerbook for years, using the track pad, lol… I had people amazed at how well I played on it too!

    For PC’s though I prefer to use an actual mouse. Dunno why, just feels better, lol…

Leave a Reply

