Skip to content

Bethany Plays WoW, Day 1

July 8, 2010
by

After the two-day prep work I put in for my WoW in game debut, I can now say that the only way to learn this game is to just play it. I’m not dissing the meticulously precise and very overwhelming Newbie Guide. In fact, I think that every noob should at least scan it so that they have a sort of abstract idea of the rules of the game and the shortcuts and all of that.

But, for me at least, the only way to learn what the hell it is I’m supposed to do is to actually sit down and make myself enter the realm and see what happens.

And boy was there a lot that happened.

At first, it was disastrous. Mostly because I had an intense blonde moment for about five minutes where I couldn’t figure out how to right click on my Mac. (hold down two fingers on the mouse pad and click, duh.) After that quest was completed,  things got better due to the fact that Nick basically showed me around the realm and was there to help me out when I had a freak out and starting frantically typing “WTF DO I DO?!” in the chat box. [Note: I find it hysterical that the chat automatically turns the word “fuck” into @!$%]  But after I got the hang of finding, completing, and turning in quests, reading the map, identifying merchants/trainers/things I’m supposed to kill and/or gather, and learning how to run/jump/attack and all of that, it was fine.

In fact, I only died once. …damn goblins.

And I am proud to report that on my first day, after about three hours of playing (I know, right?! I actually played for three hours. And the time flew!) I am now a Level 6 Paladin. And I have new clothes! And they’re heavy duty! (Or something like that) Check it below.

I’m sure many of you out there are currently rolling your eyes at my petty level and, if you’re anything like my most active commenter Keegan, relishing the fact that you know you could kill me in one swift keystroke if you ever met me in-game, but hey. I’m new! And super inexperienced in playing video/computer games. Ergo, I am quite proud of myself. And. I’m actually looking forward to playing some more.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Keegan Haanschoten permalink
    July 8, 2010 2:08 pm

    Make that TWO keystrokes. I would stun you with Hammer of Justice for 6 seconds so you’d realize what was happening. And THEN I would Judgement you.

  2. July 15, 2010 3:38 pm

    You can turn the swear sensor/word filter off if you’d like – if you hit ESC it’s in one of the control options I believe, just be prepared to be able to read all the swearing other people do in various chat channels =)

Trackbacks

  1. Today’s Most Notable In-Game Moments « Sorority Girl Plays WoW

Leave a Reply

