Skip to content

The Guild Season 4 & My Ever-Changing Thoughts on It

April 11, 2011
the guild

The Guild is one of those shows that sometimes makes me really happy and sometimes makes me roll my eyes. But for some reason, I’ve stuck with it. Maybe it’s because an entire season is an hour long. Maybe it’s because I feel ginger-induced solidarity with Felicia Day. Whatever the case, I keep watching it, and I keep having thoughts about it.

And now I’m going to tell you about my thoughts on Season 4.

Overall, I liked this season. I greatly enjoyed Season 3 and the animosity that grew between The Knights of Good and the Axis of Anarchy (WIL WHEATON!), and was glad to see Wheaton show up as Fawkes in Season 4. I liked him and his kilt-wearing, douche bagginess, which is weird since I normally have a low tolerance for douche bagginess. (Conversely, I have a very high tolerance for kilts.) Somehow he pulls it off.

Anyway. Other than Wheaton, I have grown really fond of Robin Thorsen’s Clara. Do I still think she’s a horrible, horrible mother? Absolutely. But she’s hysterical. And, in this season, Clara and Tink become friends, and the two of them together is just the best.

However, my favorite aspect of The Guild Season 4 is what you see below. All you need to know is that it shows up A LOT.

Now that I’ve said the nice words, it’s time for the not nice part. Despite of all the nice character growth that happened in Season 3, there’s one character that I’m never going to like–and that character is Zaboo. Holy Buddah, I find him annoying. Sure he’s considerate and loyal, but he is freaking weird and creepy. [DON'T DO IT CODEX. DON'T DO IT. I think that if they hook up in Season 5, I will gag and die. That's mean. But it's also the truth.]

Anyyyyyway, one thing the writers of The Guild truly excel at are writing solid finale episodes–both the Season 3 and Season 4 finales are super fun and boast some really great cameo appearances. I don’t want to spoil them in case you are interested, but THIS PERSON is in the Season 4 finale. I won’t tell you in what capacity, just know that it made me heart happy in a very nerdy kind of way.

To sum up, I liked Season 4, I like Clara & Tink as besties, I like creepily romanticized portraits, I intensely dislike Zaboo, and I’m very concerned about Season 5. What did youuu think about it? (If you haven’t seen it, and would like to, it’s streaming on Netflix and Amazon Prime.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 12:05 am

    I thought it was a solid season. I still think season 1 was best, but I will say that I loved the pirate who owns cheesy beards. He made me laugh hysterically on many occasions. There were strong hints about Codex and Zaboo. IDK how I feel about that, I think it would be a weird pairing because he’s more co-dependent than anything else!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

